Ophthalmology Discipline was established in 2004 with one lecturer and one trainee and forms part of the Surgical Sciences cluster. Initially involved in many non-ocular teaching and activities, it has now focused on the betterment of Ophthalmological science in the region. Focus on research and service has been well harmonised with teaching commitments. Undergraduate teaching is mainly with the 4th Year Medical Students doing their short specialities posting.

We have daily Ophthalmology Clinics in the Sg Buloh UiTM Campus CTC where we see general ophthalmology and glaucoma cases. We also conduct Optometrists Clinic which focuses mainly on refractive error and ocular screening. The discipline also runs an Optical Kiosk where we provide affordable spectacles for our patients, staff and students.
The current Ophthalmology team consists of four lecturers, three trainee lecturers and two optometrists. We also have two post-graduate students and a research assistant.